Fuel pump leak

MHT

Hi, I have a Spitfire Mk3 with I think a leaking fuel pump. I'm no mechanic so following my Haynes manual I wanted to open the fuel pump and perhaps change any washers etc. that could be the cause. I start to unscrew the top but every time I do fuel starts to flow out of the top. The manual doesn't say anything about this so what am I doing wrong? Would this be just the fuel coming back down the pipe that leads to the carburettors and so would soon stop flowing or should I be doing something else?

It shouldnt come back from the carb side as theres a non return valve in the pump to stop that so the flow you have is probably coming from the fuel tank under syphonic action. Isnt there a rubber pipe connection on the tank line just before the pump inlet which you can disconnect and quickly plug or even clamp?

Thanks johny. Yes, there is a rubber pipe, and I did wonder if clamping it might be what's needed, but the pipe looks quite old and it is quite stiff, and I was worried that clamping it could damage it. But maybe that's what I need to try.

If the pipe's seen better days your first step is probably to hit the club shop and order some new E10 safe tube and replace it.

With or without that you do tend to get a syphon as the pick-up end of the pipe is submerged, the pipe full, and the outlet end lower than the pick-up.  I'm not personally a fan of clamping  off any hoses and instead go with the slight of hand of; pulling the pipe off, shoving a bolt in the end of the pipe, ifnecessary tightening the fule hose clip on the bolt.  I think it's a 1/4" bolt you need for the fuel pipe.  Having an inline fuel filter in that piece of pipe helps too - in this case as it will generally have an air bubble in it that helps stop the syphon but generally to stop some of the drud making it over to the carbs.

• Like 1

clamping will destroy the integrity of the hose , cant see it the way to treat any hose