Vitesse price

micmak

Hi Folks, 

I am a newbie here!  I have never owned a Triumph, but I always liked the Herald/Vitesse.  I always hoped that someday, I’d get a Vitesse.  Then unexpectedly last week I kinda stumbled upon one that will be for sale soon.  It is a 1968 convertible Vitesse.  It has been completely restored.  I have seen pics of it in various states of restoration, and it looks like it had been completely stripped down, treated and rebuilt. The paintwork is not as good as the seller would like, so he is planning on a respray before he sells it. He will be asking somewhere in the region of €15K or €16K.  My question to you guys is, how much would a good ’68 convertible Vitesse fetch?  Is his asking price reasonable?  I know nothing about these cars, but I hope to learn quickly. Any thoughts, suggestions or advice, please?

Thanks.

…..Mick…..

Welcome to the madhouse Mick. Personally I would negotiate some sort of discount without the respray. Then you can go over the bodywork and deal with any problems that you find, sort them, and then have the paint job done to your satisfaction. As for buying price (price in Euros noted) other Vitesse owners here will hopefully advise. If you have pictures please post them to assist.

1 hour ago, micmak said:

He will be asking somewhere in the region of €15K or €16K.

Always remember, he can ask whatever he wants! If the restoration was some time ago, you should be able to negotiate downwards. Pictures please....

£15 or £16k is top dollar for a Vitesse, but the respray would need to be full and thorough not just a blow-over... for that sort of money I'd worry that it needed repainting at all. If it's completely rebuilt and fully resprayed... possibly for that price, but it all depends on what has been done and to what standard.