Oiling /Greasing Trunnions

Hi, I'm fairly new to the world of Triumphs and currently have a Spitfire.  I've read quite a bit about the importance of this maintenance step but can find very few pictures/videos demonstrating what needs to be done - can anyone point me in the right direction? 

Jack up the front of the car, take out the blanking plug from the VL (above the trunnion, facing the shockers) and insert a "grease" nipple. Fill a suitable "grease" gun with EP90 oil, and fill the trunnions with oil until it overflows from the top. 

I wonder if anybody will be offering an oiling service at Triumphfest? It was really handy at Leatherhead (and I presume Adam still does it there) A few quid and job done!

Some leave the greaser(oiler) in, others prefrer to refit the plug,

this is a reservior which is why its topped till it overflows, if the greaser ball does not seal it will

leak out and make the level low.

you jack the car to take the load off the helix screw threads and allows oil in and air amd water out better

never use grease, it will not circulate around the threads, theres been lots of discussion about whats and why's which oil, CV grease stick to the basic specification Triumph designed and you wont go wrong

use Ep 90 same as you have for the gearbox and diff

worth buying a spare gun from club shop or auto jumble etc, keep one for grease and one for EP90

do mark them !!!!

pete

• Like 2

Gpyne,

When you are buying the EP90 oil for your trunnions, make sure you get "GL4" spec, and not "GL5".  GL5 is designed for higher loadings but it isn't kind to yellow metals.  Stick with the GL4, plus you can use it for topping up the gearbox and diff. too.