EFI Herald

Darren Groves

As I'm one of a couple of Forum users that are in the process of fuel injecting their car (rogerguzzi being the other), I thought I'd start a thread on my installation for those with in interest in this kind of thing. Apologies to the purist who like originality, you best go and renew your points & condensers again rather than read this thread  :) ..... only kidding.

I've been plotting this for a couple of years now if truth be told, but I'm at the point now where I've done as much research I as I can and my collection of bits to do the job has grown suitable large that I have no more excuses to get started for real. 

I would like to point out that most of my research has been in the main part via Nick Jones (Thanks Nick!) and his very informative Sideways Technology forum. If you're think about going this route, you could do a lot worse than getting yourself over to that forum.

I've been running Megajolt for a few years now, so the ignition side is pretty much in place. No need to change much here as the trigger wheel, crank sensor, Ford coil pack & EDIS are the basis of the Microsquirt's ignition control anyway. There are alternatives to this set-up, but it's worked fine for the last >10,000 miles so I see no need to change it.

My plan is to swap over the Megajolt ECU with the Megasquirt and use it for ignition only for a short period. This will allow me to familiarise myself with the MS software and ensure that the ignition side of it is working OK, before I enter the un-chartered waters (for me anyway) of EFI.

So whilst the list of bits you need is fairly extensive, the image below was the box of goodies I received from Trigger-Wheels last week. MS ECU, Extended Loom, Map sensor, Fuel Rail, Injector Bungs, 02 Sensor bung, Shielded cable and a few bards for vacuum take offs.

ms_001.jpg