GT6 Mk3 carb problems.

Qu1ckn1ck

I have recently bought a GT6 Mk3 (1971).  It appears to be fitted with the age appropriate CDSE carbs and the 311749 early Mk3 inlet manifold but the engine has been replaced  with a later engine, KE21904HE, and the crankcase breather valve is no longer fitted.

With ignition timing, tappets and plug gaps all set correctly, the engine runs with the front three cylinders  far too rich, while the back three cylinders are running at the correct mixture.  Can the mixture be made more lean on the front carburetter or is there something possibly wrong with the temperature compensator or throttle by-pass, please  ?  The Insulator and gaskets between carb and manifold have an internal slot , presumably part of the throttle by pass, which the gasket does not appear to fully seal from atmosphere, is this correct ? 

I have no experience of Strombergs, would fitting an earlier CD set without emissions control be possible and make life easier, or even an SU conversion ?

If I have to have the carbs reconditioned, is there a recommended firm to contact ?

All suggestions gratefully received. 

The mixture is set up separately on each carb. Are yours top or bottom adjusting? Bottom adjusters are easier, top adjusters need a special tool. There could be something wrong with the temperature compensators but I would expect both to be equally shot. Don't mess with the compensator internals, the leak will be the O rings in the carb body. I'd try mixture adjustment first. I knew little about Strombergs  but got a refurb kit from Rimmers, it was easy enough. You have to be careful with the carb to manifold gaskets, there's 3 ways to get it wrong, upside down, back to front and upside down AND back to front. I wouldn't go for SUs but that's personal preference