Fuses - UK vs USA

biggles633

1500 Spitfire

Failed my MOT today because horn and hazards not working.

Checked the fuse box and top fuse blown.

Popped in new 35amp fuse, reconnected battery and the fuse blew straight away.

Can't see and obvious wiring/earthing issues, but I'm no electrician.

After a google, I thought it might be the hazard switch or the horn stalk.

So the plan was, go buy several 35amp fuses and use trial and error to find the culprit.

Looked on Halfords web site and came across a review saying Halfords fuses are American spec and great care should be taken

when using them in british cars !!

Anyone come across this before ?

Cheers

Hello.

I've not heard of this before and I am not saying that is the case - although not seen any evidence to support / dismiss. If unhappy about the US fuses, get another type from another motor factor.

By the sounds of it you have a significant shorting to earth, with sufficient amp to blow the fuse immediately. I have to declare that I'm not au fait with the exact 1500 wiring diagram.

A process of elimination will be a good starting point:

If it is either the HZ or the horn, I would isolate both units by removing the live feed to them.

Then pop in a new 35amp fuse and see what happens - if it does not blow, then one or the other is at fault.

Take your pick and replace the live feed to just one of the suspect units. If the fuse is okay and the item works correctly with the engine running then it's safe to say that unit (HZ or horn is okay) you will then be left with the potential suspect unit.

To confirm that, repeat the above process and see if the fuse blows - common sense dictates that should be the case.

If that is the case, then you will need to go through the wiring associated with that suspect unit; a workshop manual will be very useful so you can trace wiring route correctly + wire colour identification.

Hopefully you will find a dislodged wire touching earth as you investigate.