Sills

rozentas

Hi all, I am starting a topic on this forum to carry on from my topic in the Engine forum section""Engine noise Spitfire 1500"

I have removed my engine , the steering and suspension, and am going to rebuild the engine bay when I have painted it. Then I was planning to rebuild the engine but I have found that a PO has installed some new sills which are still in good condition but he did not repair or replace the inner sill, and strenghthener and the floor is rotten where it joins to the front of the inner sill and bulkhead. Also the very bottom of the lower A post is rotten just by the sill cover adjacent to the bulkhead. 

I need some advice about which way to tackle the rot.

I know I could remove the outer sill, strenghthener and inner sill, while bracing the car and replace the lot, but I have never done anything like this before and so would it be an option to cut off the bottom half of the outer sill and then get access to repair the strenghthener, inner sill and floor, then weld back the bottom of the outer sill?

Also with regard to painting the chassis now I have degreased it.........I am thinking Kurust, 2 coats of red oxide primer, then would the club's top coat paint be ok over this base, or have you experience of a better option?

Having had to deal with similar, but worse, I would suggest you give the doors a look at before leaping in.  With the alignment associated with sills and A Posts then having sound and straight doors to build the structure around makes life easier.  It also means you can leave the doors in place whilst much of the work is done, reverting to bracing later on.  It was one of the first things I learnt on a classic car panel restoration course I did 15 years ago when leaving the RN but by then too late!

Dick

• 1 month later...