Hi people. Triumph 2.5 Estate?

Hello all. I am a newbie here, so apologies in advance if I have put this into the wrong area of the Forum! My name is Mike Oldham, & I am looking for advice/help regarding buying a Triumph.

I currently have a “Modern” estate car which requires no involvement to drive, is seriously over complicated, & which is now starting to cause problems, with error codes & faults that are hard to resolve. To be fair, the car has been good until recently, but current repairs look like they will cost more than the car is worth. Enough is enough!

I know my way around cars, & am happy to work on them. I have a passion for classic cars from the 70’s & 80’s, & own a Mk1 Golf GTi which I have owned since new & restored a couple of years ago. I have also built a couple of kitcars in the past, one of which we still have.

Sanity has finally prevailed, & now that I am retired(ish), I have decided that I could/should have a classic estate car to replace the “Modern” It would be far more satisfying to drive, but would need to be a realistic proposition for daily use, with room for the wife, & 2 dogs, plus have good support regarding marque knowledge & supply of spares. It also needs to be user friendly to work on!

Giving it some thought, the obvious choice would be a Triumph 2.5 estate, either the PI or S, being well equipped, would keep up with modern traffic, cruise on the motorway, be comfortable on long journeys, & they look so right! They are also a car that will carry the 2 dogs, & that my wife would be very happy to be seen in! (Not a point to be underestimated!)

Having made the decision & started to investigate, I now find that these seem to be somewhat rare! (Compared to when I last looked a couple of years ago).