Chassis Swap Spitfire 4 1964

I have to change the chassis on my 1964 Spitfire.  Everything else is in good shape (I bought a good car with chassis damage).  Would you strip out the suspension and attach it to the new chassis first before removing the body from the old tub, or the other way around?  The first way seems most logical but I'm a newbie here.  Thanks

Having recently helped my brother with his Spitfire clutch I wondered why is it so difficult to wiggle the bell housing through the bulkhead cavity?!!

Answer (from P. Lewis esq)  In the factory the engine, gearbox were put on the chassis first and the body tub last. No one noticed the bulkhead cavity was too small for later remedial work. Doh!

Doug

20 minutes ago, dougbgt6 said:

Answer (from P. Lewis esq)  In the factory the engine, gearbox were put on the chassis first and the body tub last. No one noticed the bulkhead cavity was too small for later remedial work. Doh!

Agree with both Pete and Doug; any Herald I've done has been chassis built up first, as it's much easier to route brake lines etc (and fit the engine and bellhousing as Doug says! I do it in one complete unit) then fit and gap the body. The underside should be already painted so it's just a case of masking off the bits you don't want resprayed. Bonnet goes on last.

chassis2.gif.32f5848e69bcce17c23af19925c68d86.gif

Definitely as Rob says. Strip the body, body off. Conceivably you could swap the suspension over next, but it is much easier if suspension is last off/first in. 

If you get a handy assistant, I reckon, assuming no remedial work while you have it all apart, and nothing is too seized etc, the bulk of the swap is easily achievable in a weekend. Plenty to do before and after of course.

On 14/01/2020 at 07:30, dougbgt6 said:

Having recently helped my brother with his Spitfire clutch I wondered why is it so difficult to wiggle the bell housing through the bulkhead cavity?!!

Doug