Oil filter conundrum

PatrickB02

Hi all,

Newbie here, so hope I am posting in the right place.

I want to change the oil filter in my Vitesse engined kit car (RMB Gentry), but I can't make out what type it is.  The Haynes manual shows a Delco and a Purolator, but the filter housing on the engine doesn't look like either of those.  I have attached some photos, and hope that somebody might be able to point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance.

IMG_20200213_202028581.jpg

IMG_20200213_202050050.jpg

IMG_20200213_202244881.jpg

Hello Patrick,

Your car has the original paper element housing filter assembly.

You need a paper unit to replace it, plenty of listings.

If you feel able, you could convert this system to the more agreeable disposable spin on filter set-up.

Plenty of past threads on this Forum discussing such.

Regards.

Richard.

The problem with the OE filter is that it empties back into the sump when stationary.     This means that the engine bearings must survive on what little oil remains in them, until that big filter housing can  refill with oil from the pump and receive a new supply via the oilways.    Some worn engines will give a 'death rattle' on startup, that goes away once the oil gets there.

The spin on adaptation allows the use of a filter that won't automatically empty, because it hangs lower than the exit,  because the spin-on casing is much smaller, so less volume to replace and because the filter casing includes a non-return valve.     But not all filters do.   Look at the face of the filter, into the little holes in the rim - there should be a rubber membrane behind them.

Troublesome, says NM.   You will find that the spin-on cannot be mounted with the filter vertical, and must be angled forwards, but it still does the job!

John

there are two depths of original filter  here are the club shop/generic numbers 

GT6 had a thinner one  GFE138

All   Vitesse  is GFE131  which is a deeper element