Broken spark plug

Woody2000

Hi just started on a new project  triumph 2000 whilst trying to remove sparks plugs after 10 years I have got 5 out !! But the last one snapped leaving just the ring then decided to use a hardened steel reverse thread to remove it but that snapped as well !!!!!!!!!!!

Question  can I remove the cyclinder Head but leave the carbs and exhaust manifold to take to a local garage ??? 

I've no experience of the 2000 but suspect it's like any of the 2 litre engines; you can remove the head with the exhaust manifold simply unbolted and hanging in place on the exhaust, but obviously the carbs are on the inlet manifold and this assembly will require removal as well before you can get down to the bare head. Just remove those and set to one side. It's simple enough and with the head off you can use the time to tidy other things, as you'll be replacing the head gasket and possibly manifold gasket etc. In the meantime help whoever will be doing the removal by using plenty of penetrating oil round the snapped plug, it will give it a head start. With the head off you'll have access to the underside of the plug so possibly heat in this area may free it up, but don't damage the head.

If you have any problems, post - if you haven't done this before you'll need a good workshop manual for the sequence of removing or tightening head studs plus the torque settings of the other bolts and nuts. Take plenty of photos before you start - they're a great aide-memoire when you come to replace things.

One important thing for this present time - if you've got a garage that is currently open and will do the work, great, but if you're buying replacement parts order in good time as both supply and carriage is erratic at present.

Pete L has a 2000 so he with other big saloon owners will be able to advise in more detail.