Post welding treatments

Tom

Hello, I'm busy doing the repairs on my rear tub ( 1200 Herald conv ). I am no bodywork expert , I kind of muddle my way slowly and carefully through and generally get there in the end. I have been coating all the repairs in zinc primer asap after welding. My question is should all the new welded seams and repaired sections be coated in some kind of seam sealer? something like Tiger seal?

I wondered if sealers just tended to trap moisture?

Thanks, 

I use tigerseal/or similar and find it very good. I have also started using weld-through primer before welding repairs etc.

Essential to use a decent wax protection once final paint has happened, dynax s50 in aerosols, or dinitrol  if you have a compressor etc. 

I haven't done any major panel replacements for a while, but I still have a tin of  brushable seam sealer.     An advantage may be that the solvent is cellulose thinners, so I can add some to the tin if it's got a bit dried out, or else to adjust the consistency.     The polyurethane sealants will go off on the shelf once used at all and be unusable.   No probs for a big project, but wasteful for a small.

Weld-through primer, brush on sealer, primer and paint.

Ok, I've used Tiger seal before so will probably stick with it.

I do have access to a compressor so maybe I should look into the alternatives to waxoyl. Clive have you used Dinitrol? How did you find it?

I used the  dinitrol 3125 (I think!) a single litre pot goes a long was as no aerosol propellant. Sprayed all inside the sills, and just about every seam I could. Highish pressure creates an amazing mist in box sections, and the stuff is so thin (almost as thin as WD40) it must cover everything, unlike waxoil.

On wheelarches and underbody I used the dintrol hard wax, and I was expecting to reapply annually, but after 5 years it is still good (despite lots of long fast touring some in heavy rain)