GT6 steering rack issue

I've recently acquired a lovely GT6 Mark 3. One or two issues to sort out the first being really 'vague' steering which I've discovered is due to a faulty rack to column shaft steering knuckle. Haven't had a good look yet but at least one of the securing bolts seems loose and the knuckle looks generally dodgy. Am I correct in thinking this part has been superseded by a UJ? If so, does it fit on without any other adjustments? I'm a newbie so sorry if this sounds a daft question!  Second question is where do you recommend I go to for spares? I've used Rimmer Bros in the past. Cheers.

3 minutes ago, Keith Scotch said:

I've recently acquired a lovely GT6 Mark 3. One or two issues to sort out the first being really 'vague' steering which I've discovered is due to a faulty rack to column shaft steering knuckle. Haven't had a good look yet but at least one of the securing bolts seems loose and the knuckle looks generally dodgy. Am I correct in thinking this part has been superseded by a UJ? If so, does it fit on without any other adjustments? I'm a newbie so sorry if this sounds a daft question!  Second question is where do you recommend I go to for spares? I've used Rimmer Bros in the past. Cheers.

My first port of call had been Canleys . Good prices , fast delivery and they know what they are talking about 

Paul 

the UJ is a straight fit you will have to raise the inner column a bit to pop it in the inner and outer column are collapsible a good pull will raise it

without undoing ant supports and a good shove down will return it . always keep a gap between handwheel and switch cowl or you blow the horn 

on corners 

on both getting to the pinch bolt can be a fiddle as the joint is hidden behind the turret 

Pete

2 hours ago, Pete Lewis said:

on both getting to the pinch bolt can be a fiddle as the joint is hidden behind the turret