Cabin wiring

Rogues

I'm new to all of this so I apologies if this topic has been raised before. My 1971 Mk2 vitesse has never been rewired and I can see a number of modifications undertaken over the years. In the winter I will be removed the dash and all of its accessories so that it can be re-varnished, it seems a good time to renew the cabins wiring. I am considering installing all relays on the electrical equipment in the cabin therefore installing a new relay/fuse box. Has anyone already done this, do you recommend it, are there any downsides in doing it. I would appreciate any comments. Roger

Hello Roger,

I replaced the original fusebox with 2x 12 way modern blade fuse boxes and put relays on everything; it took me weeks. I'm very glad I did it but if I were doing it again I would use something like this, where all the hard work is already done for you https://www.carbuilder.com/uk/cbs-12-circuit-wiring-module.

Adrian

• Like 2

• 1 month later...
On 01/10/2020 at 15:53, Adrian Cooper said:

Hello Roger,

I replaced the original fusebox with 2x 12 way modern blade fuse boxes and put relays on everything; it took me weeks. I'm very glad I did it but if I were doing it again I would use something like this, where all the hard work is already done for you https://www.carbuilder.com/uk/cbs-12-circuit-wiring-module.

Adrian

HOW!, F*****g Much!. (Yorkshire War Cry).😅 Trip to the "Scrappy" is in order I think?.

• 3 weeks later...

I was worried when I replaced mine but the cost was somewhat cheaper for only a little effort...we won't talk about the worry factor but it was well worth it.

On 13/11/2020 at 17:43, PeteH said:

HOW!, F*****g Much!. (Yorkshire War Cry).😅

...similar war cry with 50/50 Lancashire/Yorkshire blood. I once heard Yorkshire blood described as being similar to Scottish blood, but the Yorkshire stuff had the charity gene removed (apologies to all nationalities mentioned!!!)

• Haha 1

1 hour ago, Badwolf said: