GT6 Engine mount replacement - advice please

Matt T

Hello,

I’ve just recently started ‘looking after’ a Mk3 GT6 for my son, he had nowhere to garage it – so he let dad have the pleasure.  So I’m just beginning to appreciate the fun (and pain) of owning a classic. Looking around I’m seeing the nearside engine mount needs replacing – see photo. I’ve sent off for and have now got the replacement bits.

I’m looking for a bit of advice. Having no engine hoist would you recommend jacking up/supporting the engine weight via suitable piece of wood positioned under the sump and a trolley jack?  Would the sump be able to take this? Or is there a better way to do this?

Hope you can help – any advice welcome.

MattT

IMG_0633.jpg

I changed one on my GT6 a couple of years ago and found it pretty straightforward.

I didn't like the idea of jacking under the sump, so jacked a block of wood positioned along the front flange area of the sump to take the weight. I then removed the two bolts holding the mount to the turret and the 4 bolts holding the plate to the engine and removed the unit complete. I then loosely reassembled the engine mounting plate with the new engine mount and reversed the process. From recollection, I used a pry bar to gently shift the engine a little (opening the V) to ensure all the bolts aligned to start them off.

Gully   

7 minutes ago, Gully said:

I changed one on my GT6 a couple of years ago and found it pretty straightforward.