Viewing thoughts - lend me your eyes (TR4)

mfidler

Hello chaps,

I'm going to view this car today:

1964 Triumph TR4

I called the seller yesterday to arrange to view as it's only half an hour away from me at most. I've been hunting for a TR4 or GT6 Mk2 for about 5 months or so (TR4s are looking more promising as the GT6s are rarer than that which rocking horses expel from themselves!), with a preference for an early TR4 with a Surrey top.

Everything checked out during the initial call which I kept a little on the brief side due to poor GSM reception, but I managed to confirm the car had OD, and was solid enough (although personal inspection will confirm). The seller seemed to readily admit the poorer points of the car (rear chrome), and even alluded to some issues with the interior not visible in the photos. Additionally he was willing and confident to have the car MOTd and let me have a look at the underneath of the car on ramps at a local garage should I be happy to progress from the first viewing.

Some points that I'll be looking into today:

- OS front wheel arch seems to have a slight crease in it inside the engine bay (will photograph).

- Panel gaps on the boot seem to be off (will photograph chassis alignment at rear, door on each side)

- Slight orange peel on paintwork (see rear wing)

- The carbs are missing the little hoses that go into the air filter from the rocker cover (usually the hose is connected to a run-off tank but I can't see it in the photos?)

- Seems to be a bit of rust on the bottom of the sills, I'm hoping this is just on the surface where the paint has chipped due to little stones flying up off the road and is just a Hammerite-and-masking-tape job (I'll be giving them a good poke with a nylon prodder)

Any further advice or points that I haven't detected would be much appreciated - especially before midday when I go and view.

I'll upload all my photos for the experienced eyes here to peruse over.

Michael