Diff oil leak

cliff.b

Checking under my car and noticed evidence of an oil leak from the front of the diff (see pic).

I also noticed that the exhaust passed directly under the diff and is very close, maybe about 5mm.

Just wondering if this is likely to make the diff excessively hot and if so, could that be thinning the oil and causing the leak?

IMG_20210720_183106_978.thumb.jpg.71b24d13a3f0efa5d5d1431260640089.jpg

Not unusual for the front seal to leak,worth checking the jiggle pin on the top as it acts as a breather,no breather = pressure and more likely to leak.

Don`t think the exhaust makes too much difference,use a good quality oil- EP90 GL4.

Some on here have looked at modern synthetics but i have no experience of those.Changing the seal isn`t a massive job.

Steve

the exhaust has no effect the diff gets hot enough to fry eggs in normal use as waste energy is given off as heat 

and if you take the coupling off to change the front seal(after checking the breather its just above the filler on the NS )

turn the prop shaft bolts around   you want a good clearance on the front frame  4 bolts as if one comes loose you lock up the prop

Pete

Hmm, decided I better top the oil up if it's been leaking and a steady drip started coming out when I removed the filler. I added a bit more anyway but the drip turned into a trickle then. I am therefore assuming that as it has clearly lost some oil, it was probably overfull to start with and maybe that's why it's been leaking.

11 hours ago, cliff.b said:

Hmm, decided I better top the oil up if it's been leaking and a steady drip started coming out when I removed the filler. I added a bit more anyway but the drip turned into a trickle then. I am therefore assuming that as it has clearly lost some oil, it was probably overfull to start with and maybe that's why it's been leaking.

Diffs are often overfilled as the cars get hacked up at the back so the car is at a jaunty angle.