Vented Fuel Cap?

A TR7 16V

I'm no expert, but. I have the original type petrol cap fitted and it does not a hole in the cap. I can't say I'm aware of how the system vents, sorry I can't be of more help.

Someone will be along soon with a full answer, my money is on either 'Doug' or 'Pete' being part of their name 😉

well they have to breathe some how  there is  no seperate tank breather 

lockables breath through the key slot   on a std cap without having one to examine  i just dont remember  these will all be the dreaded 3 prong caps 

which makes alternatives a bit scarce 

Dougs GT6 has the pop up so different kettle of fish and he has to get his robot lawnmower going so do not disturb  ha !!!

Colin must have some to play with ???

Pete

12 minutes ago, Pete Lewis said:

on a std cap without having one to examine  i just dont remember  these will all be the dreaded 3 prong caps 

I even went and looked at the one fitted to confirm there is no visible hole. How it vents I don't know, I agree locking ones would vent via the lock ( I have a locking one as well but prefer the original - less effort when I go and fill the car I'm that lazy)

Now my curiosity is aroused, I'll not sleep until I also have the answer!

The problem seems to be that the pentangle shaped locking one I have has a seal round the barrel, so it didn't vent through the lock. There was some pressure in the tank when I came to take it off this morning, and a bit of a petrol smell round the car. I don't think the 5 sided shape is at the Rootes of the problem.

It was a tight seal on the neck of the filler, but I've taken it apart turned all the gubbins inside around, and now it's a bit slack. So I think that should ease the problem, but I'll keep an eye on it. It fits in what looks a better way, in that the cover for the keyhole points straight down  not down and back.

Graham

1 hour ago, Pete Lewis said:

Colin must have some to play with ???

Pete