Spitfire Mk3 non starter.

jyc888

I purchased a Spitfire Mk3 (Wedgewood Blue) with 1296cc engine and overdrive last year and she is my pride and joy.

It was running fine until one day on the motorway, the engine just cut out. Complete loss of power and she wouldn't restart. 

No preceeding bangs from the engine/smoke or fluid loss on the hard shoulder. 

She was towed home. I am a weekend mechanic and having played around with little success and now seeking if anyone can help,

The battery is new and the starter motor cranks, but the engine wont catch/run.

Electrics (wipers/lights) still work. Oil and radiator levels are fine.

I checked all the HT leads and spark plugs are there are no sparks.

On taking the dizzy cap off, I noticed than when trying to start, the dizzy rotor arm doesnt move at all!

I had changed the fuel pump earlier thinking that was the problem and also put in a see through fuel filter. I have noticed that when cracking the engine no fuel seems to be passing out of the fuel line where I disconnected it from the carburettors. I have checked that the fuel pump arm sits above the camshaft when installing. On manually priming the fuel pump, fuel does squirt out.

Rotating the radiator fan manually also does not rotate the dizzy rotor arm or make the fuel pump work.

I'm wondering now whether that it is the camshaft that has gone, and would appreciate any thoughts on how to get her back on the road again.

Thanks for reading.

It does sound like tbe camshaft is not turning. Take the rocker cover off or look throuhg the oil fillerand see if any of the valves are opening and closing when the engine is cranked. If not the timinh chain or gears are not turning the cam or the cam has snapped. Not personally seen this happen before.

Chris

The camshaft is driven of a chain that is driven by the crankshaft, not the water pump / radiator fan.

When you turned the radiator fan, did the crankshaft rotate as well ?