triumph Spitfire MK 1

Duane

Hello All,

I am a newbie and currently have a MK1 without Engine and gearbox, you have probably heard this a thousand times before so I apologise if you have, but trying to source a MK1 spitfire engine is almost impossible however I can get hold of herald engine and gearbox, so my question is does it fit ok?, I think I am correct in saying there are same engine, failing this does the 1500 engine and gearbox fit, not ideal as would like to stay true as possible, which laughable in one sense as cannot find MK1 Engine (NUMBERS).

many thanks in advance for help

Duane

all the herald/spitfireengines are interv=changeable and fit in the cars.

However, there are significant differences bewteen a spitfire 1147 engine and a herald version. Camshaft, compression and so on, that is before you get to carbs, distributer etc.

But a herald 1147 engine can be built to spitfire specifcation. 

A 1300 or 1500 will give better performance, but teh 1500 really needs the spit 1500 diff. And the 13/1500 are visually a little difr=erent to the earlier engines.

Herald and early spit boxes are the same, but watch out for flywheel/clutch/throwout bearing variations

Hello Duane,

Yes, a Herald engine will be a straight drop-in for a Mk1 Spitfire, with a couple of caveats. Depending on the age of the engine it may have either a coil spring or diaphragm spring clutch, and you need to correct set of bits for whichever it is. Mk1 Spitfire would be coil, as would an earlier 1200 Herald. The 1300 engines and later 1200 Heralds were diaphragm. Also, the Herald engine has a milder cam, which may lead to entertaining times if you're fitting the proper twin SUs. Of course, if you go for a 1300 engine then the head's different so you need all the appropriate 1300-style manifolds and exhaust.