What bolts required to mount 1147 onto engine stand

Tipidave

I am about to buy an engine stand (from machine mart I think) prior to removal of my 1147 herald engine later this month. I have never used an engine stand before… any tips? Also how do I know what bolts I will need to mount engine on the stand? 

You’ll have to use longer versions of the bolts that hold the rear engine plate to the engine. I’ve bolted the stand directly to the block, I’ve seen others recommend using a sacrificial spare rear plate that bolts to the block and is modified to allow the stand to bolt to it. 

4 minutes ago, Josef said:

You’ll have to use longer versions of the bolts that hold the rear engine plate to the engine. I’ve bolted the stand directly to the block, I’ve seen others recommend using a sacrificial spare rear plate that bolts to the block and is modified to allow the stand to bolt to it. 

Sacrificial is good advice, you can bend the plate if you use it for support alone. When I bought my first (and only) engine stand I used long lengths of threaded rod due to the strange 'feet' on the arms of the stand. Screwed them into the appropriate holes on the block, then adjusted the arms to take them, and used heavy washers and nuts to secure them. Knowing me, it was probably wrong, but nothing fell off or was damaged.

Yes, "sacrificial"!    I have an old back plate that I use for this purpose.   It allows you to use bigger bolts than would fit into the engine block, up to the capacity of the stand.

Adaptedbackplateforenginestand.jpg.e5fad2c43839fbf13e4963ed2a2ed030.jpg