Mk3 Spitfire Brake Master Cylinder Push Rod Length

Peter Truman

I'm in the process of upgrading my daughters Mk2 Spitfire from Type 12 brake calipers to Type 14, which require a master Cylinder of larger capacity. Today I got a new Mk3 Brake Master Cylinder (Coventry GMC224), which came with a very long pushrod (150mm), I have several other push rods in my spares box, 63mm long, 88mm long, the existing Mk2 push rod & also an adjustable rod. The current Mk2 small reservoir master cylinder fitted appears to be around 95mm from the face of the master cylinder mounting flange to the centre of the clevis pin, the actual length of the push rod to get this distance hasn't been measured yet, but can anyone confirm what this measurement from the mounting flange to the clevis pin should be, &/or the actual push rod length used in the Mk3 Spit Master Cylinder?

Just fitted the new Coventry Master cylinder and transferred the push rod over to the new master cylinder, now as suggested elsewhere the reservoir just sticks up a little high, I don't like the recommended solution of raising the bonnet rubber cones, it must affect the bonnet door bulkhead alignment, o I'll have to think about that?

I could remove the plastic reservoir and mount it remotely and use a SS braided hose between the remote reservoir and the Mast cylinder body.

As long as the reservoir is higher than the master body is there an issue if the suction hose drops lower than the master cylinder inlet? 

Edited by Peter Truman

Only problem I can see is you might get an air pocket where the hose connects to the MC which might impeed the flow of fluid. However you could clear this by lifting the MC up when its filled to clear any air before fixing in its position...

• Thanks 1