Camshaft Options

Darren Groves

Knowing that my engine will have to come out in the winter (I like to plan ahead), I have been thinking do I want to stick with the Newman PH2 Fast Road Camshaft that I've been using for the last 3 years and I'm at the conclusion that I don't. The loss of torque at lower revs, everything useful is 500-1000 revs too high in the rev range for the roads where I live and my driving style, so it's got to go.

So what to do? I could go back to a standard 13/60 camshaft, the cheapest option as I have 2 but that's just a bit too easy and safe.

I have read in a few places that the Spit MK3 is the best of the stock Triumph ones, timing and duration are: 25/65  65/25 & 270°

Or I could go for the Newman or Piper Cams 'Road' Options:

Newman PH1 - Timing: 20/60  60/20, Duration: 260°, Power Band: 1500-6000
Piper Cams TRBP255 - Timing: 17/55  55/17, Duration: 252°, Power Band: 1500-5800

Or there is a Kent 'High Torque' camshaft which I can find little information on:
Kent Cams TH12 High Torque - Timing: 31/5  67/23 Duration: 270°, Power Band 1500-6500

This time round I'm looking for a smoother idling cam, with more useful torque and power at more modest revs, so I need some help here with what to do, anyone got good or bad experiences of any of these cams or other suggestions?

I feel your pain, I did what you have done to my vitesse, and almost instantly regretted it.

I would go the tried and tested route of the spit 3 profile, yes it will sacrifice a little power, but will be more drivable and probably feel quicker on the road.

That is my 2p worth....

• Like 1

I feel your pain, I did what you have done to my vitesse, and almost instantly regretted it.

I would go the tried and tested route of the spit 3 profile, yes it will sacrifice a little power, but will be more drivable and probably feel quicker on the road.

That is my 2p worth....