Wrong coil on Spitfire Mk 3?

Mark D

Hi all, 

First time on here and pretty much a complete novice with cars! Bought a 1970 Triumph Spitfire Mk iii 1300 a few months ago - partly because I've always loved them, and also because I wanted to start learning about classic cars - just didn't think the learning curve would happen so quickly haha :)

Anyhoo - if anyone could please advise me on something I'd be hugely grateful! I'm sitting here with a big pointy hat with the letter 'D' on it when it comes to mechanics, so please excuse me if this situation seems completely daft! 

The original coil she came with was overheating and I couldn't restart her until it'd cooled right down. 

Couldn't figure out if she was supposed to have a ballasted or non-ballasted coil, so somewhat irresponsibly bought two - a Lucas DLB105 unballasted (gold), and a Lucas DLB110 (ballasted). 

So the irresponsible bit was I took a gamble and installed the unballasted one. I'd had problems starting her up previously  - often like 10 attempts. When I put in the new  coil she started up absolutely beautifully! Chuffed with myself that I'd solved the issue I took her out for a spin - probably about 15 miles or so. 

Suddenly it felt like the engine was dragging - she wouldn't really accelerate - I dropped her down into 3rd from 4th and it seemed to correct itself. However about 5 minutes later I lost all power. The coil was warm but not roasting hot like the old one. I tried swapping the coils over, installing the ballasted one, but no joy - she wasn't even interested in trying to kick in - so a friendly neighbour towed me home. 

2 days later I go out and give her a go turning over - started up beautifully - no problems at all. Didn't drive her though. 

This was three weeks ago. Went out yesterday and the battery had drained (previous owner had put in an immobiliser system which the local garage said I should remove - not sure if that accelerated the battery draining - I guess so?)