Novice Question: Solved problem but not sure what I did :0)

Mark D

Hi guys, another mechanical spitfire-related question to you awesome experts from a complete novice!

If anyone can help shed some light for me please, I'd be very grateful :0) 

I had a problem which I seem to have fixed but not sure how! I did a handful of things, but not sure which would have solved it!

Up until today car (1300 MK3)  started up perfectly.

After I replaced the windscreen washer pump I went to start the car up, and she started okay, but as soon as I took my foot of the accelerator the revs dropped off completely and  she'd cut out. Whilst I'm learning, I'm pretty confident that a washer pump isn't going to effect the car like that?!? ;)

I thought maybe she was cold, so I ran her for a bit with the revs up, took foot off, and she cut out. 

One thing I've noticed recently when I start her up though, is I pull the choke out to fire her up, and then as soon as she's started, I have to pop the choke back in straight away and bring the revs up a bit for about 1 minute or so. From there she'll tick over okay, although I can't help think she's ticking over a little high at 1,200 to 1,500 rpm? 

Other things I did (one of which was the solution) was: 

1) nudged the timing spindle on the distributor by about 2 notches (this doesn't make sense to me though as she was working fine about 2 days ago so not sure how it could have changed, but I do understand that this setting can impact how the car runs and starts etc)

2) The plastic 'casing' on the choke cable runs a bit short, so sometime it catches when it goes into the 'pipe/hole' I tweaked that a few times to get it to settle in correctly - but again - I've had this before but doesn't result in the car stalling.