Triumph GT6+ Restoration thread

Hi all,

I've never blogged a build before, so please be kind. I always start a project with the best intentions to log my build, but never do get around to it. Maybe this will be the first?

Myself:
Definitely a backyard mechanic, I have no professional experience, but am willing to have a go. I've since done 'basic' restorations on a VW beetle, Land rover S3, Porsche 924 and a handful of motorcycles. By basic I mean remove everything, get it cleaned, replace anything that needs replacing, get it working, and reattach. I don't like to focus on cosmetics, as it takes a lot of time and money, and I haven't got the space or facilities to do any of it myself. I focus most of my energy in getting the vehicles mechanically sound, and rebuilding wiring harnesses. 

The Car:
Yeeeesh. Right. So. Picked her up for a hefty sum (embarrassed to say...) but given they're pretty rare, and I've always wanted one I said WHY NOT. I did not go into it with open eyes, as turns out finding parts for a GT6+ / MK2 are challenging at times. The car is a US Import, brought it from the sunny, wonderfully dry state of California. It was wrapped red, but was a complete car sans interior and door windows. A field inspection had me notice the brake and clutch lines were new so that saved me a painful job! I knew it ran as I had a video of it doing so. I've since reached out to the previous owner, a nice fella in the States who confirmed the works he'd done on the car. His intention was to track it, as he ran a wee tuning shop, hence why the brakes etc were redone, and the interior was missing. It also came with a braided fuel line system and a racing fuel cell, although the fuel cell inner carcass was missing, so basically an empty steel box with some 'racing' decals on it. 

I had it sit around for some time but since have done the following:

- removed the wrap. Turns out the car is a metallic red that's faded to a somewhat salmony orange?