GT6 Engine Query - Electrical of Fuel Problem

92/38576

I am new to this although I have been a member of over 20 years. I have an unmodified GT6 MK3 (owned for over 23 years) which for over a year runs for about 20 minutes on the road and then just stops whatever the weather or time of year. When this happens there is no sign of interest as she turns over on the starter motor. Today in the really hot weather she started first time ( as always) and I left it on tick over and it ran for 35 minutes whilst I sat beside it and listened. Temp gauge fluctuates as the thermostat opens and closes and she is not overheating. It did not misfire but again just stopped. I had a Gunsons Colour tune plug ready and whipped it in to see a nice big fat spark on turning over so my original thoughts on an electrical problem seemed to be wrong. I removed pump to carbs pipe and turned over again and good healthy pumping of fuel. I removed both drain plugs from bottom of carbs and both were full of nice clean fuel so I am at a loss. I know she will start first time when cold later on - any ideas please?

OK we've had a few of these lately! You might like to have a look through the threads. But first of, when it happens, open the fuel cap. Is there a woosh? Does it then start? This would indicate a blocked vent. Another thing I have had is an accumulation of "sludge" in the fuel lines which drift about and suddenly cause a blockage. You stop, the blockage relaxes, and off you go.

There is a rubber joint in the fuel line, in the passenger side rear wheel arch, disconnect here, does the fuel gush out, or dribble? I disconnected the fuel level sensor from the top of the tank. You can then see the fuel outlet orifice. I used plastic strimmer cord to dyno-rod the fuel line. Beyond this is the path to the fuel pump where there may be more blockages. Certainly worth putting in a fuel filter if you haven't got one.