Vitesse 6 Overdrive

Bobsprott

I a new member having recently bought a Vitesse 6 in OK condition but in need of a bit of TLC. I am giving it a bit of exercise every week and as a result have found a few issues. Up to now the overdrive has been fine, if a little slow to kick in and out but on a run out this week - nothing. It just didn't work. Where do I start? As I am new to the world of Triumphs I thought I should seek some advice!

An O/drive includes its own oil pump for pressure to actuate the clutch, it's an eccentric on the main shaft.

Your symptoms are those of low oil pressure, which may be due to pump wear, wear elsewhere or blockage by wear products.

Here's an article on the Canley site that may help trouble shooting.  (I think a Vit6 has a D-type)

http://www.canleyclassics.com/technical-archive/the-d-type-overdrive

John

Welcome to the forum.

First check  the oil level in the gearbox.

Then the electrical connections - solenoid connections, lock out switch, column switch and bullet connectors from gearbox to loom are OK.

Next clean the overdrive oil pressure valve at the top of the overdrive housing, there is a spring and a ball bearing under the cap. Be careful not to lose the ball bearing. The cap unscrews. 

Obtaining a Triumph Vitesse Workshop Manual is a must.

Dave  

yes low gearbox oil level is the first check , the gearbox filler level on the drivers side of case sets the level for gearbox and the overdrive.

EP90  GL4 spec oil only. needs tunnel off to gain access,, can be seen from under but your  fingers wont fit ,

there is a switch to disconnect in 1st 2nd reverse  if this gets out of adjustment , it wont make contact when in 3rd 4th  sometimes a stiff wiggle of the gear stick to left and right will make a poor adjusted switch work for a moment 

Its D type  solenoid on driver side   on Vitesse6 unless its modified with a J type   solenoid passenger side