Spitfire Alternator Problem

Gnbickley

Hi everyone,

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to Classic Car maintenance and I'm hoping to tap into the wealth of experience on here to help me out.

I've got a 1972 Spitfire MkIV which has been running fine most of the time. About a month ago I carried out the 12000 mile service and everything went ok. Recently though my ignition warning light has stopped illuminating at all, I've changed the bulb and it has no effect I've cleaned all the connections and checked the wiring and that seems fine. Last week I was driving home in the dark with the lights on, heater on, windscreen wipers on and as I got home the indicators stopped blinking they just came on and stayed on. half an hour after getting home I had to go out again but she wouldn't start as the battery was flat.

I've checked the battery and it's holding charge fine once it's charged even driving the car during the day with no lights or heater on the battery is fine.

Having read some of the threads on here I bought a multi meter and checked the voltage across the battery with the car off and I get 12.5V with the car running this drops down to around 12.4V. putting the multi meter positive probe to the brown wire terminal on the Alternator and the negative to the battery negative and I get 12.38V at idle. If I rev the car up to 2000/2500rpm the voltage goes up to 12.4v.

From what I've read I think it might be a problem with one of the Diodes but I'm not sure where these are or how to test them. Am I right in thinking that the Diodes are inside the control unit which is inside the Alternator? How would I test them to find out if they're the problem?

Cheers

Gary

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

the diodes are inside , most are accessible with a few screws out, ,some carry the brush gear which is sprung to make contact, these may have worn down