Triumph not Spit(ting)fire

Kiajon

Hi guys,

So, currently sitting in my garage is a late model Spitfire 1500 which has not been on the road for 10 years. The bodywork seems good, interior is a little tatty (or missing) But no great concern. The problem is, the engine won't start. It turns over,pumps fuel (which is fresh) but no start.

The questions are, therefore, what should I be looking at? What perils usually lurk within a Spitty that hasn't moved in 10 years?

As far as the engine is concerned, there's no spark from the coil (put the lead out next to bodywork to check), should I replace it? I'm presuming I'll need to sort out everything under the dizzy cap. To that end is it worth switching to electronic ignition? Or should I sort the old points condenser system first? As far as electric ignition can anyone recommend one, and any to avoid.

Right. That about covers it for now. Sorry if it's a lot but I'm new to this game so please be gentle. this car has been inherited from my dad so I'd like to get her up and running.

Thanks in advance for your help,

Jonathan

If the points have been static for years the pivot can seize so the points stay open

make sure you have a bothb feeds to the neg coil terminal one ign on and one when cranking

take off dizzy cap, make sure the points have a 0.015"gap with follower on the lobe of the cam

check the points actually move , old can stick on the pivot post

check the condenser is secure and leads from coil pos + and condenser are connected to the sprung end of the points, if its a post with a nut , both fit under the plastic bush with nut on the plastic.if its a hook connector is it tight and clean

check the small braided wire which earths the plate is complete

make sure the ht coil terminal is not all green inside

dont replace anything till you are sure whats fitted is the culprit

new condensers have a poor reputaion , some are just an empty can,

pete