GT6 Tyre to Bulkhead interference

I have just bought a "restored" GT6 Mk3 and am finding some horrors like greased trunnions, "slotted" wishbone holes and front tyres fouling the bulkhead on lock - all despite an advisory free MOT cert.  I have no previous experience of Triumph foibles and desperately need guidance from those with the knowledge.

The car is on 175/70R13 Tyres, in what combination of circumstances could these foul the bulkhead ?  The road wheels look to be standard with no spacers but are not marked  as 4.5J.  The coil springs appear to be new but as I have no build history I do not know if they are standard height or lowered versions.

Could spacers or collets have been omitted from the coil spring/shocker assemblies when they were rebuilt ? 

Any suggestions will be avidly pursued.

there are other posts around here about tyre fouls,

if the shockers are std then the pad is fixed , no spacers or collets

things like the wishbone pivots can get assembled upside down wrong handed etc this can really upset the castor and wheel positions  

as can accident damage.

on a simpler note the rack may not be centralised and you get excessive lock angles,    when does it foul  ???

on bumps or on lock 

your tyre size is correct   

do the springs have any colour coding or anything other than black ??

• Like 1

Thanks Pete,

On left turns, the nearside wheel fouls on the slightest lock and it has got worse in the few miles I have driven it, as if the ride height is settling.  That side has the slotted wishbone which is being replaced.  Looking at the offside there is the slightest mark on the bulkhead to suggest it has been lightly touched by the tyre at some point.

As far as I can tell the springs are plain black.

i would only guess someone has slotted the wishbone bracket ?  to adjust some factor  why ??  who knows

It really should not  settle down that much