Loctite

AidanT

Hi all

There have been loads of mentions of this stuff on various threads.  

As I am new to this product, I would be grateful to know if there is a similar product that will enable a bolt to be tightened but will also allow it to be removed and so is not a permanent fix

Thx

Aidan

My door locks were fitted some time ago by a proverbial gorilla and two of the three machine screws / bolts on both sides do not tighten. This will hopefully be the last time I will be removing them to solve / replace the door locks The aftermarket ones I fitted a few years ago have worn badly. I have been unable to get replacement barrels.

Anyway door locks need to come out again hence I want to be able to put them back in better than they will come out.

Sorry for the long winded explanation

Aidan

Hi Pete do you know what sizes of countersunk set screws were used on triumphs? I would like to buy a mixture as they are very expensive when you buy small quantities. Do you know any suppliers that would make up an assortment or that already sells such a set. There are a few that sell bolt sets for the cars

Aidan

Heres a wee tip for ye,

the small bolts, nuts ont lock, are awkward t,get at,

Butt, drill a hole int door, and a 1/4 drive socket will fit thru, and its alott lottt easier

getting at them this way, than bending dubble, an twisting yer wrist  around in a confined spot

they should be studs in them, not bolts

if some ones replaced studs wid bolds, then try an go back to studs,

and, a small Nyloc will suffice

M

M,   thats a good point about the studs,  theres a good chance the bolts have bottomed out and thats stripped the mazack casting

always useful  keep a look out in aldi lidl for cone cutter or step drills   great for making the holes you need for easy access.

places like screw fix do them as stock but 4 times the aldi prices 

A bit of thread drift here, but Pete (or anyone) do you have a decent copy of the Standard Triumph Hardware catalog?