overdrive and reverse light wiring

willis

Hi all, has anyone got any pictures of how to wire the overdrive on a mk2 Vitesse. Mine is a 1971 2ltr without a relay as it is a j type and apparently doesn't need one. 

(I should've taken a lot more pictures). I do have a wiring diagram but I'm not good at following them, plus it shows wires going to a relay which I don't have and don't know how to get round this. I know the overdrive switch is under the lever remote and that it has 4 connection points on it, but don't have a clue what colour wire goes to which point. I even have a new overdrive loom but don't know if its the right one. If anyone can tell me exactly where the wires come from and go to I would really appreciate it, but please try to explain it as if I was a 4 year old so I'll have half a chance of sorting it out. Also, the same applies to the reverse light switch. There's a green wire and a green/brown which go to the switch, but again, there are several connections on it and I don't wire goes to which connection. I would rather not risk getting it wrong on either issue and risk burning something out.                                                                                                                                                                                              Thanks for any help, Rob

The reason you can't find the right wiring diagram for a J-type in a Vitesse is that the factory never fitted it. All overdrive Vitesses were D-type and NEEDED that relay.

There is no harm fitting a relay with a J-type - my Vitesse is wired thus.

I'm not quite sure what you mean by "the overdrive switch is under the lever remote and that it has 4 connection points" - there's an inhibit switch somewhere on the gearbox but not there and it only has two wires. Unless you don't even have a Vitesse gearbox, in which case you need to tell us what you do have.