Replacing soft top windows

jamesdennison

The mohair hood on my soft top is in good condition but the windows need replacing.

My thoughts are to "simply" get hold of some of the correct grade plastic, undo the stitches on the existing one, cut the plastic to size and carefully stitch in the new one...... is it this simple?  or am I entering a world of pain?

Anyone recommend a supplier?

Thanks

James 

I have no experience of exactly this, however I have done a bit of sewing. Shirt buttons aside I've stitched domestic plastics and leather. They are difficult to perforate, doing it by hand you'll certainly need a strong thimble just to get through the existing holes in the fabric, let alone the plastic. I'm not sure a domestic sewing machine would cope. I wonder if you could pre-perforate the new plastic using the old ones as a model? 

Hi,

If there are no holes in the windows; I would buy some PVC window polish and make them clear again.

Cheers,

Iain.

I've tried the stuff sold by the club shop - made a difference a few years ago when windows were not so bad, but not really doing the job now.  Not tried standard pvc cleaner - I guess I could give that a go.

One of the issues is that I have speakers on the panel between the fuel tank and the cabin, over the years these have marked the window and created bulges in the plastic.

No holes!

I have no experience of exactly this, however I have done a bit of sewing. Shirt buttons aside I've stitched domestic plastics and leather. They are difficult to perforate, doing it by hand you'll certainly need a strong thimble just to get through the existing holes in the fabric, let alone the plastic. I'm not sure a domestic sewing machine would cope. I wonder if you could pre-perforate the new plastic using the old ones as a model?