1978 Triumph Spitfire 1500 Exhaust System

Black Cat

Hi Gents,

I’m new to Triumph's but have just brought a 1978 Triumph Spitfire which is in need of some tender loving care. The good thing is the car is quite sound apart from the usual oil leaks and a little bit of rust.

There are a couple of things I need to undertake as a matter of urgency as I want to keep the car on the road for the next couple of months before I start the complete restoration which will involve taking the body off, engine gearbox and diff rebuild, any bodywork replaced or repaired and respray.

Firstly, the exhaust system needs to be replaced, not sure what the previous owners have put on it, they claimed it was from a Triumph Stag and that it sounds sporty but to be it sounds like there is a great big hole in it. Had it up on a hoist today and no sign of any holes but would still like to replace it with a Full stainless steel sports system with twin rear silence.

Where is the best place to get an exhaust system, how much will it cost, and should I also get a stainless steel manifold at this stage or wait until the rebuild?

The engine doesn’t run very smoothly at the moment, I’m hoping with the new exhaust in place the carbs can be reset up and then the car will run a lot nicer.

Secondly, there is a leak in the radiator, only a small one, again at some point I will replace this with a large aluminium one. I think these work out at about £100.00 plus, is it worth having the rad I have repaired or should I just bight the bullet now and buy a new one with a new fan?

Many thanks

Steve

P1070403.JPG

P1070352.JPG

looks like a semi-sport rear box meant for a spitfire. Twin wheelbarrow type will be louder..... and despite me being referred to as a hooligan by some, I find sports exhausts too loud. So have a think, a std GT6 rear box may work better and be easier to live with.