Lop sided rear end

s99sdp

Hello All,

Forgive my stupidness, I'm not a mechanic, just a heavy duty pen pusher.

My Mk3 Spitfire sits very low on the rear drivers side. It also makes a huge clunk/grind from the rear drivers side when the car first moves off then again when the forward momentum stops. 

I'm assuming its a bush that needs replacing somewhere? 

I've replaced both rear shocks AND the spring and all the remaining bushes seem ok but can anyone give me some advice from my terrible explanation of the problem?

Thanks in advance for your help.

SP 

Changing the spring (and shocks) made no difference to the lopsidedness? In that case it my be the front of the car causing the issues.

Jack the car up with a jack under the diff to get the wheels off the ground. And then see how the front springs are.

Another thought, this can be caused (but unusual) by bent or damaged diff front mounts. Obvious when you think that the spring is bolted to te diff. If that is notsitting correctly by a tiny amount, the rear spring will be a long way out.

Clunk may be the tie rod from the heelboard to the bottom of the vertical link. Damaged bushes unusual, but damage to the heelboard, or loose bracket attached to heelboard, does happen.

5 minutes ago, clive said:

Changing the spring (and shocks) made no difference to the lopsidedness? In that case it my be the front of the car causing the issues.

Jack the car up with a jack under the diff to get the wheels off the ground. And then see how the front springs are.

Another thought, this can be caused (but unusual) by bent or damaged diff front mounts. Obvious when you think that the spring is bolted to te diff. If that is notsitting correctly by a tiny amount, the rear spring will be a long way out.

Clunk may be the tie rod from the heelboard to the bottom of the vertical link. Damaged bushes unusual, but damage to the heelboard, or loose bracket attached to heelboard, does happen.

Hello Clive, thanks for responding.