Automatic Vitesse?

dougbgt6

Three of us at East Berks last night!  :(  However, the return of a newbie from last month, he's in a wheel chair and wants a Triumph. Last month he was keen on a GT6 but he's now settled on a Vitesse as more practical. He has a Range Rover and the clutch is operated by a device built from a windscreen wiper motor. We had a discussion on Triumph automatics and hand controlled clutch and accelerator equipment. The question is, is there an automatic option for the vitesse? He likes the 1600, if that makes difference.

No off the shelf/factory option.

The handful of converted cars had their chassis chopped about to accomodate the BW35 gearbox (I think they were35's) However, Ithink the 65 is slimmer and may fit without mods? Use a torque converteroff a 2000, plus the 65 offthe same car, it might just work. Even the prop may fit??

I am no expert, and am relying on a hazy memory and conversations from long ago.Tom knows about all this stuff I believe, so get in touch if you can, and do some research as well. 

the clutch is operated by a device built from a windscreen wiper motor. 

You mean... it's in, it's out, it's in, it's out? :)

Sorry... couldn't resist it.

I remember back in the day discussing automatic Spitfires after finding an automatic Dolomite in a scrapyard, but it was the modifications required to the chassis that scuppered that idea. 

I also had severe difficulty with type 35 and type 65 boxes in a Reliant Scimitar so have no great love of either. 

• Like 1

The lack of space due to the chassis was always the problem with any automatic option or the use of the stronger Vanguard/TR gearbox when the 2 litre engine was fitted. Lack of product planning, who knows. An automatic Herald should have been in the Sales peoples thoughts as there was a Standard 8/10 Easydrive. Maybe the Sales figures had been to low on the Standard?

Dave 

Easydrive was a  smiths consortium electro magnetic auto mainly used in Rootes products