No spark after fitting magnetronic electronic ignition to Mk2 Vitesse

T3 California

Help please to forum newbie.

After 20 years of owning my Mk2 Vitesse I decided to fit a magnetronic electronic ignition system with lumenition matched coil, new distributor cap, and new club HT leads, all bought from the club shop.

I studied the u tube videos and was convinced it would take about 30 minutes. 5 hours later I have no spark.

Its is fitted with a lucas 22d dizzy and was working just fine before the swop.

I had to cut off the peg as per the instructions on the base plate and got a good flush fitting for the adapter plate.

Attached the module, now here is the first problem. I was unable to get a gap of 1.5mm for the magnetic timing disc , it was much too tight. There is some vertical play in the dizzy but little side to side play.

Everything I tried to lift the magnetic timing disc resulted in the rotor arm not bedding down properly.

The other dilemma was , I was unsure if the Mk2 is fitted with a ballast protector already. The existing coil measures 3 ohms. I can see no white wires with vague pink strips. It had a new loom in 1995 and I am not sure if they used the factory colours. So I fitted the ballast protector that came with the new coil.

I also fitted a new distributor cap and club leads, having used the old leads as a template to refit in correct order.

Tried to start it up , turns over (new battery) well but won't start. No spark from HT leads.

Took it to bits, the label on the module has scrapped off as the timing disc is too close.

Swopped back the old points , dizzy cap , leads and coil, still won't start and still no spark!

I have been through the troubleshooting guide , which does not say what to do if the timing disc is too tight to the module.

I wonder if there is a thinner adapter plate?

So I now have a car with no spark with either the new or the old ignition system!

Any suggestions gratefully received

BW

Tom

Tom,