Another Hello!

I'm sure you've heard this all before..... 

I have eventually managed to retire and now have all the time in the world (that's what I thought anyway) to restore my 1978 Spitfire 1500 which I bought in pieces. (Mistake No1)

Unfortunately its a complicated jigsaw puzzle and whilst I can use a spanner I'm not an engineer so please forgive my probably daft / obvious questions. - There will be many. 

Thanks in advance

Stephen

ask away the only problems with asking is it may get drifted into something quite unexpected 

but help is just a few key strokes away there's more help on here than encyclopedia britanica   ha !

do you have any workshop manuals    if not get one on your Xmas wish list 

available from club shop or many suppliers 

Pete

Yes thanks Pete I have quite a selection the latest and newest favourite being Moss (others are available) as it gives better exploded views and parts in chronology (and it was delivered and free).

I have lots of examples where the wrong part has been fitted to my car or there isn't one at all so it's helped with a lot of that.

Stephen

Hi Stephen,

38 minutes ago, Stephen T said:

I have quite a selection the latest and newest favourite being Moss

Parts catalogues are great but the one book you really need is the reprinted official Triumph/BL workshop manual. It tells you how to do things, and is more accurate than Mr Haynes or his competitors.

I find the factory manual sometimes assumes knowledge, and often that you’re in a fully equipped Triumph dealership! So having that along with a more DIY focussed one, yes even Haynes, is my preference. I had three, sometimes four, manuals open when doing a bunch of gearboxes recently. 

Anyway, welcome!

5 hours ago, Stephen T said:

I'm sure you've heard this all before..... 

I have eventually managed to retire and now have all the time in the world (that's what I thought anyway) to restore my 1978 Spitfire 1500 which I bought in pieces. (Mistake No1)