Goodrich Braided Hoses

Peaks

Please, I'm not after personal opinions or guesses - I can do that for myself - but does anyone know what the life of a Goodrich braided brake hose is?

Despite Googling, I cannot find a definitive answer, except that they have a lifetime guarantee. Pretty sure they are not designed to last forever though!

Thanks

Pretty sure you'll need a receipt. And who do you sort it out with, the dealer or the manufacturer?

I had a "guaranteed for life" stainless exhaust, the welds and baffles started to fail. I think I bought it from Rimmers, but it was 40 years ago.

Doug

Agree with both of you regarding the guarantee. My Bells sports exhaust system has split along the main straight pipe, but I don't feel I can return it as I fitted it in 1993 🤣 I still have the reciept from the club as well!

I was more after a stated life/change routine for the hoses. I'm a chartered engineer,  and I like design lives, mean time between failures, and all that anorak stuff 😁

Edited by Peaks

Some don't like braided hoses. Non-braided you can see when the rubber starts to bulge and that's when you change them! :lol:

I used to be Ceng, but in retrospect I really wish I'd done English Lit.

Doug

Edited by dougbgt6

10 minutes ago, dougbgt6 said:

Non-braided you can see when the rubber starts to bulge and that's when you change them! :lol:

Doug

Ahh, change on condition eh Doug? You'd have been wasted as an English teacher 🤣

• Haha 1

I did look recently at doing English Lit at the OU, it costs about £7k a year for 3 years. Turns out I can get a Student Loan and being a pensioner I have an apparently low income.  Which means I would be paying back only £200 odd a year. After 40 years the loan is written off when I'd be 116. 

Doug

1 hour ago, Peaks said:

I was more after a stated life/change routine for the hoses. I'm a chartered engineer,  and I like design lives, mean time between failures, and all that anorak stuff 😁