Millers VSPE fuel additive

Puglet1

Hello All.

Ā I am planning to pick up our new (to usšŸ˜€) Mk2 Vitesse tomorrow. I have bought some VSPE in preparation for the journey home. Which fuel do I need to use with it, E5 or E10? Sorry if this seems a silly question but I have no previous experience with a 50year old car.

Ā 

Ā 

Ā 

Ā 

I use Super E5 in both of my 2L cars. Both have valve seats changed for unleaded although many folk will tell you that it isn't necessary on cars running relatively limited mileages. I have used E10 when I couldn't get E5 and the car ran reasonably well but lacked a bit of oomph.

• Like 1

The engine was designed for higher octane fuel so E5 97/98/99 octane will be better. It will run on E10 95 octane, but perhaps not perfectly depending on how it has been set up / maintained. For getting it home, donā€™t be too concerned! On additives, the consensus seems to be not to bother. Iā€™ve had my Herald 15 years, itā€™s had the occasional bit of fuel additive and especially when I was younger and poorer I used 95 octane fuel. Iā€™ve seen mild signs of VSR over that time. A Vitesse will be happier with higher octane though.Ā 

• Like 1

the valve seats of a head with no hard inserts fitted has many thousands of miles lead memory and if you browse the whole of the fourum i dont recall any member having any seat problemsĀ 

i seriuosly agree use a E5 97/99 fuelĀ  in fact the esso site says they have to say E5 is present but in fact they dont add any

i would save the money you might spend od silly must have addatives and just buy the higher octane fuel and drive itĀ 

with 97+ fuel you can use close to TriumphĀ  specified timing and mixture settind and the car will perform to its optimumĀ 

95 2* was in the day more for low compression side valves and your motor mower , why put it in your sports saloon ????

Pete

• Like 1