What information is needed by the DVLA and Insurance companies?

Eric Smith

Hi guys

As many of you might know, I have been restoring a 1955 Standard 8 for a good many years, but the end is in sight, so I now need to start thinking about paperwork because I guess the DVLA and insurance companies will want to know if the car is different from the one which came from Standard in 1955.

I have never completed a restoration before, so before I open up the proverbial can of worms - what do I have to do to prepare or gather information to give to the DVLA and Potential Insurance companies.

So far I have

1. Changed the cars external colour

2. Changed the the engine cubic capacity by fitting a replacement engine, it was an 803cc SC unit, it’s now it’s 1147cc SC unit married to the cars original gear box and soon to be replaced the innards of the differential.

3. We fitted a new improved and recommended Webber single choke down draft carburettor

4. Fitted new front seats and got rid of the rear seats because I don’t want them

5. Fitted a new speedo because the old one was smashed

6. Fitted some new and additional gauges including a rev counter

7. Fitted a new loom and changed the car to Negative Earth

8. Fitted new wheels and tyres but still 13” for the benefit of the speedo.

The steering box needs a revamp so I need to get it replaced or refurbished, the brakes are all new, new master and brake cylinders, new clutch master cylinder and changed most of the fuel and hydraulic pipe lines.

So I admit the car is partially modified but not massively and has been up graded a little so guys your advice on how to proceed would be appreciated.

Eric

Eric,

For the DVLA, engine capacity and colour. If the engine is from another Triumph you may not loose your point, it has to be an engine Triumph might have considered fitting themselves. But from a Ford, no chance! The rest you've done is just repairs and aesthetic additions.

Doug