Overdrive - basic use

Jonathan Pryse

Second newbie question....  Picking Spitfire 1500 up Saturday then driving home around M25.... Being born in 1967 I've never used overdrive before!  I understand it's just an extra 'ratio' but when and how is it used?  Is 4th + overdrive work a bit like 5th?  I've heard people say you can use it from 3rd too?? Not sure why you would want to.  And most basic question is how do you engage? I assume clutch is needed at same time as flicking the switch?? Just to reassure you it does work - I had it inspected before purchase!!  Thanks for your kind responses in advance - it will make my journey far less daunting!!

You don’t need to use your clutch , I take my foot off the accelerator and flick the switch then use the accelerator gently . I’m sure you will receive more advice from more experienced users. I don’t bother using overdrive in 3rd gear . Don’t forget to switch off overdrive when slowing down. I found adding a warning light for overdrive very very useful . I have a Vitesse Mk 2 

Paul 

• Like 1

Yes, think of it as a 5th gear. 3rdOD can be useful in traffic sometimes, but I rarely use it.

You will love it as you whizz round the M25 (hopefully!), and instantly appreciate the advantages on a longer trip. 

Welcome to ownership. Hopefully you will enjoy it and use it a great deal. I see you are near Dover/Folkstone, so idea place for exploring Europe....

• Like 1

The od will work in 3rd and 4th, but 3rd od is same ratio as 4th , as the ratios are not spread out well by triumph

You can use throttle or just feather the clutch to smooth out  any head jerking changes,

You can overtake in 3rd and flick to re use the toque band of  the engine, without any foot work it will be fine changing under power

Its all down to how you want to your driving style,  use either foot to smooth out a change or  not its all,down to how you drive.