Aldon Amethyst programmable ignition

Iain T

Finished sorting out the dash spaghetti so I need another challenge and excuse to play with my Vitesse. Has anyone fitted the above unit and is it reliable and worth the effort? I have the Pertronix (Aldon) Ignitor 2 fitted and this unit is apparently complimentary. I have a non standard engine and unknown dizzy advance and I like playing! 

Cheers

Iain 

Yes, I've been using one for quite a few years now, and it has been faultless.  Very easy to install and programme, and easy to make ignition curve changes on the fly, if you take your laptop with you and connect it to the unit and tune the curve as you drive.  All you need on the laptop is the Java application (you can download that from the internet) and you will need to use windows (hence needing to use a laptop). The only downside is that you can only use Windows; it won't connect to your phone.

Thanks for the info, I have a windows laptop I can use. Have you noticed a difference in engine performance and efficiency? Do you have electronic ignition? It does seem easy to install and I think they supply a standard curve for a Vitesse/GT6 as a starting point. 

Iain 

I've noticed better performance due to being able to tune the curve for best power/torque without pinking, so that must mean more efficiency I guess. No, I'm not using electronic ignition, just a new set of points in a wear free distributor that has the advance/retard locked together, as the Amethyst unit takes care of advance/retard, (both centrifugal and manifold vacuum) and the points themselves last forever, as they are now only dealing with milliamps.

Humm, £250...  If you're thinking of spending that much I'd probably just go the whole hog and swap to MegaJolt - in fact I did.

I can't see why the £450 Trigger Wheels GT6 kit wouldn't work on a Vitesse , and you can do it cheaper than that if you source individual parts yourself - http://trigger-wheels.com/store/contents/en-uk/p169.html