Which is better for long distance work, standard or electronic cooling fan?

jagnut66

Hi, 

I know, me again, so many questions.....

Sorry, I'm new to Triumph ownership.

I'm going to have my rad recored, so that I'm starting with a clean modern core that will cope better with modern traffic conditions, as I hope to use here on a regular basis. 

Also, in every car I've bought over the recent years Minor or MGB, it seems that previous owners, even in this enlightened(?) day and age, still think plain tap water is sufficient for cooling purposes.......🙄

However my question is this, will I be okay to stick with the original mechanical fan or would I be better swapping to an electric (temperature driven) one long term?

I imagine most of my journeys will be local / accross the peak district, however I will need to travel further by motorway on occasion.

As an aside I have purchased and will be fitting an oil cooler (lesson learnt the hard way a few years back in a Minor).

Many thanks, 

Mike.

1147 herald do not have any cooling quirks  you could fit a later plastic fan , they are quieter too.

the std fan is fine , the electric does not keep an air flow under the bonnet only when its on   this gives poor carburation control if under bonnet 

air is too hot  

unless your racing it an oil cool just is not a must have thats really needed 

decent oil quality is all you need , 

if you want performance and a hot everything   get a GT6   ha !!

Pete

24 minutes ago, Pete Lewis said:

if you want performance and a hot everything   get a GT6   ha !!

No, just looking to get the best out of the 1200 and ensure it copes with anything I might ask of it in modern traffic conditions / on motorways.

Oddly I'm not drawn to the TR range or the GT6.

Don't get me wrong, I like them, I just have no desire to own one.

If I was to go for another Triumph it would probably be an early 2000.

But for now I'm content with just the Herald and to spend, where neccessary, on that.