Bullet Connector Crimping

Neil Clark

Any thoughts on crimping?  I only have a ratchet type spade terminal tool with three jaw sizes.  I've tried it on some bullets (I've only 10 or so to do) and while it crushes the entry end for the wire, the bullet point looks OK.  I don't really want to buy a special tool or a soldering iron just for this.

I would always advocate using the right tool for the job but as long as your bullet is tightly secured to the wire (Can you pull it off with a pair of pliers?) then you should have a satisfactory crimp. If you have a DVM or AVO, a quick test for resistance in the joint would also be advisable.

While people have strong opinions one way or another (including me, I’m not a fan of crimped connectors!) they are both recognised and acceptable ways of making an electrical connection, when done properly that is!

I work in the Electrical Contracting Industry, and in our Panel division they use extensively Crimped connections on their Control and LV Distribution Panels, some with Currents of up to 1,600 Amps with no issues?

The important thing is to use good quality Ratchet type crimpers (I don't trust the usual hand type) and also use the correct size crimp to suit the cable size, for a car most of the Crimp Lugs will be either red 1/1.5mm sq size cables, Blue 2.5mm sq size cable and yellow 4/6mm sq size cables.

The problem is our cars are usually fitted with Imperial size cables, so knowing which crimp size to use is a bit of guess work which is not ideal, although there are charts which cross reference between Metric/Imperial cable sizes?

Another thing is the modern type Crimp lugs in Red/Blue/Yellow colours always look a bit messy and out of place I think on an old car

There are issue you can have with soldered connections too in some situations, I think the original Looms on our cars had a combination of crimped and soldered connections

Gary 

• Like 1