Vitesse 1600/6 Fuse box behind Battery getting hot

A lot of current going through; are you using a lot of electrical components at the same time? I'm no electrician but something is building up resistance so heat is the by-product; cleaning the terminals may help, but switching to a modern fusebox with more fuses and therefore less draw on each circuit may help; similarly fitting relays for the headlamps also reduces the strain on the wiring. 

Fuses do run hot. That is the objective. They melt when the current is too high. Also, the original clips get weak and dirty, increasing resistance. The original max load was about 25 amps. The wattage ill be about 20 x 20 x resistance. If the resistance is only 0.1 ohms this equates to 400 x 0.1 = 40 watts. You would not want to hold an illuminated 40w bulb.

Replacing with blade fuses is a good idea, even if you only replace with the few originally used.

Even if you use realys you should protect your wiring with fuses. Uprate the wire gauge to say 40 amps and use 30 amp fuses, That reduces the series resistance and will reduce any heating to about 20% of what it was.

I once did all of this on a 6v VW beetle when a mate uprated his headlamps. He was getting a mere 3v at the bulbs.

While it's a good idea to upgrade to a modern blade fuse box, there is an easier starting point. Try cleaning all the connectors, the spade terminals where wires link in and out of the box plus the spring blades that hold the fuses. Bend the spring blades inwards slightly if necessary so they hold the fuses tight. Then fit new fuses and try again.

Nigel

Edited by Nigel Clark
  • Like 2

4 hours ago, Nigel Clark said: