Strange noises from rear end!

Herald 13/60. I have a rotational 'thrum thrum thrum', very noticeable at very low speeds circa every second at 5mph.

Disappears (well maybe) as I get up to 30 and sometimes cannot hear it when I slow down again??? 

I'm new to these and wonder where I should start. I have jacked up all 4 corners and rotated all 4 wheels, there is no bearing noises or movement and no brake binding sounds, in fact they rotate very silently..

Do I look at prop shaft or UJ's or what? 

Cheers for any tips/advise :)

there will be two things..

a loose wheel nut

endfloat on the drive shaft UJ

it wont be propshaft thats a 4times quicker ,yours sounds road wheel speeds 

you need to get under, jack the wheel to running height and put a stout pry bar in the UJ there must not be any float or movement in the crosspins and yokes 

will probably need a new UJ , dont buy junk off e bay , get reputable eg club shop or known supplier 

if there is small float canley classics sell over sized thickness circlips to aid adujstment 

• Thanks 1

Right, cheers.  More testing in the morning. Probably better to do the pair. I see how to get hub off and axle out but the uj's themselves.... how do they come out/get replaced? It looks like a trapped unit with the flange. I see there are circlips but do they push far enough to pop out of flange??? :) never done a uj.

Well thank you too Paul. Most informative. So the cross piece goes into flange and end caps ( with roller bearings) go on from outside. Eureka 

I understand them now.

Strange that I've never had a uj problem in 50 years of faffing!

That's pretty much it.  Difficult part is removing the circlips.  There are vaiations.  The first bit doesn't need the vice and it is best to use a wooden or copper faced hammer.
From a guru on a previous message board:

UJ Removal – The JK patented method

The patented JK UJ removal method is the best thing since sliced bread: