Another newbie here!

Hi All,

Yup, another 'hello' post!  I recently bought a 1972 Spitfire in blue from a classic car auction.  It's got a couple of issues (namely rear camber and some lighting), but i'll be looking at them over the next few days to see what's needed.

I'm pretty handy with vehicles (my VW transporter means that I have to be!), but this is my first classic British car... so need to get a set of imperial tools!!

Anyway, here's a couple of pics :)

Leigh

20220322_143014.jpg

20220322_143022.jpg

20220322_143033.jpg

20220322_143043.jpg

Welcome to the mad house  forum, always room for one more!

When you've had chance to check out the problems with the car ask away and I know you will get plenty of answers, advice and if you need it encouragement & support.

2 minutes ago, johny said:

Looks very nice but yes looks to be sitting too high at the back. I wonder if theres a clue in any bills you got with the car as to whats been done on the rear suspension?

I believe it's had poly bushes fitted, so potentially something to do with that.

17 minutes ago, Qu1ckn1ck said:

Hi and welcome to Triumph ownership, Leigh !

Nick

Thanks... but the question is... how quick is Qu1ckn1ck?

2 minutes ago, Chris A said:

Welcome to the mad house  forum, always room for one more!

When you've had chance to check out the problems with the car ask away and I know you will get plenty of answers, advice and if you need it encouragement & support.

Thanks - I've had plenty of help with my VW ownership over the years, so I know the benefits of a knowledgeable group!

yes its high , i would do as suggested loosen all the pivots  and see if ti settles  retightenn when its on the deck 

excessive rear toe in will make the suspn  climb , when driven forwards .  does it lower when reversed ??

as for imperial spanners  

M11 = 7/16af     M13 = 1/2"af   m15 = 9/16"   m17 = 11/16af    m19 = 3/4"af    so all close enough to get at most fitting

Pete