Flooding Carbs - Fire Risk and high fuel loss

Top Banana

All,

I have read all the threads on Carbs flooding and petrol pooring out of the Air fliter box. I had this on my GT6 Mk1 with Stromberg CD 150's, I went 20 miles and lost almost a quarter of the tank. The danger of the situation was; in my mind I thought perhaps I didnt read the fuel gauge correctly when I left the drive way but it had definitely moved a lot but I couldnt piece together the cause ( I am a pilot and you are taught to measure fuel in flight based on time and distance, planes have flow meters - litres/hr like a trip counter to keep you situationally aware at all times).

That day I was driving to meet a friend and show him my new toy. It was only the fact that I stopped and lifted the bonnet to show off and Rev the 6 cyclinder beast; that he immediately noticed a big puddle of fuel on the ground. Panic set in as I saw fuel running out of the Air filter box and rushed to switch off the engine. Roadside repair coming up; so out came the tools and I found the float chamber needle stuck and reluctant to rise and fall, lots of wiggling the jet and wiping a paste like congealed gell on most items, it took a couple of rebuilds to make the car behave enough to drive homel. 

Next day I rebuilt and cleaned that carb again and sealed the gasket on the float chamber. I was too lazy to do the other carb and guess what one day later is also failed and leaked. My carbs were reconditioned/exchange with less than  300 miles, but perhaps its more the 10 years with little use and old fuel that caused the issue.

So my main reason for worry on that day apart from the car being unrealiable and fuel waste, was the Fire Risk. I have to wonder why the Exhaust and Fuel / Carbs are on the same side of the engine (was it cost or ease of manufacture), when some FORD engines have cross flow heads?